Events

Thursday April 02, 2015
Start: 04/02/2015 7:00 pm
n/a
Friday April 03, 2015
Monday April 06, 2015
Start: 04/06/2015 7:00 pm

Gibson's Book Club reads Regeneration, by Pat Barker, and the works of Sassoon and other WWI poets

Monday, April 6, at 7 PM

This year we honor Poetry Month by reading this classic novel based on
the life and work of poet Siegfried Sassoon, whose anti-war poetry
revealed the horrors of trench warfare and who influenced other poets of
the time, such as Wilfred Owen. We will also be reading a marvelous and inexpensive collection of World War I poetry published by Dover.

Our book club is open to all. We've chosen an eclectic, ambitious list of books for the coming year: join us for every meeting, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Most of these titles are in paperback, or should be by the time we'll read them, and they will all be discounted 25% from the publisher's price for the following year, whether you join us for meetings or not.

All meetings unless otherwise noted are on the first Monday of the month, and begin at 7:00, to give you time to have dinner and relax a bit first. Parking is free in the Capitol Commons garage and on the street, after 5 p.m... 

Thursday April 09, 2015
Start: 04/09/2015 7:00 pm
n/a
Wednesday April 15, 2015
Start: 04/15/2015 7:00 pm
n/a
Thursday April 16, 2015
Start: 04/16/2015 7:00 pm
n/a
Tuesday April 21, 2015
Start: 04/21/2015 6:30 pm
n/a
Thursday April 23, 2015
Friday April 24, 2015
Thursday April 30, 2015
Start: 04/30/2015 7:00 pm
n/a

New books, new trailers


The Thing The Book: A Monument to the Book as Object

What exactly is a book? This wildly inventive and thought-provoking volume asks that question of more than 30 of today's top creative visionaries.

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer