Sabin Willett, "Abide with Me"

03/28/2013 7:00 pm
Thursday, March 28th, 2013, 7 p.m.

Abide With Me is a modern day retelling of Wuthering Heights with a story of obsessive and tragic love. Like Heathcliff and Cathy, Roy Murphy and Emma Herrick’s passionate bond crosses the social gap that separates the no-good boy from “the Park” and the privileged girl from the house on the hill, The Heights. But unlike the Brontë classic, the reader follows Roy when he leaves town, fighting in Afghanistan at the height of the Taliban insurgency. Booklist has called this novel “fiercely authentic…Masterfully blending small-town gossip with the inner obsessions of a quiet veteran. Willett’s densely layered prose will appeal to fans of James A. Michener and Anthony Swofford.”  

Since 2005, Sabin has represented, pro bono, prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, winning freedom for Chinese dissident Uighurs who have since been resettled in Bermuda, Sweden, the Pacific island of Palau, and elsewhere. He is a frequent speaker and writer on Guantanamo and the so-called "War on Terror." At the Guantanamo Bay Naval station he met soldiers, sailors and Marines; his novel Abide with Me draws in part from that experience.

 Can't make the event? Call us (603-224-0562) or email us (gibsons@totalnetnh.net) to have us put a copy aside to be signed for you. 

 cover art for Abide With Me
Book List

Abide with Me (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451667028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 3/2013

Location: 
Street:
27 S Main St
Additional:
City:
Concord
,
Province:
New Hampshire
Postal Code:
03301
Country:
United States

New books, new trailers

Station Eleven has captivated several of our store staff, but Tracy was the first to write a review of it. Check it out!

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Meet sportswriter Bob Ryan on Tuesday, Ellen Stimson (author of Mud Season) on Thursday! Monday, October 27th, 2014


Meet Bob Ryan!
 One of the finest sportwriters and journalists of his or any generation, Bob Ryan is the voice of New England sports. His new memoir, Scribe, has just hit the shelves, and he is coming to Concord to talk about it--about his life in sports. Don't miss this chance to meet Bob Ryan! (And even if sports aren't your thing--don't forget, Christmas is coming!) Bob will be joining us at 7 PM, Tuesday, October 28. Read more about him in this Concord Monitor article.
 
Meet Ellen Stimson, author of Mud Season
 Mud Season was one of bestsellers last year, and if you liked that, you'll love Ellen's new book, Good Grief!  ,  the continuing adventures of her family in the wilds of Vermont.  One hesitates to call any book "the quintessential New England book," but this has to be among the finalists. Meet Ellen on Thursday, October 30, at 7 PM.

 
Strongest week of the year for new releases
A lot of important books hit the shelves tomorrow (Tuesday)--important because they're ground-breaking, important because they're entertaining, important because they're artfully written--or all of the above. Here are just a few examples. Click the cover art for more details.  And come have a look tomorrow!
 
 

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer