Sabin Willett, "Abide with Me"

03/28/2013 7:00 pm
Thursday, March 28th, 2013, 7 p.m.

Abide With Me is a modern day retelling of Wuthering Heights with a story of obsessive and tragic love. Like Heathcliff and Cathy, Roy Murphy and Emma Herrick’s passionate bond crosses the social gap that separates the no-good boy from “the Park” and the privileged girl from the house on the hill, The Heights. But unlike the Brontë classic, the reader follows Roy when he leaves town, fighting in Afghanistan at the height of the Taliban insurgency. Booklist has called this novel “fiercely authentic…Masterfully blending small-town gossip with the inner obsessions of a quiet veteran. Willett’s densely layered prose will appeal to fans of James A. Michener and Anthony Swofford.”  

Since 2005, Sabin has represented, pro bono, prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, winning freedom for Chinese dissident Uighurs who have since been resettled in Bermuda, Sweden, the Pacific island of Palau, and elsewhere. He is a frequent speaker and writer on Guantanamo and the so-called "War on Terror." At the Guantanamo Bay Naval station he met soldiers, sailors and Marines; his novel Abide with Me draws in part from that experience.

 Can't make the event? Call us (603-224-0562) or email us (gibsons@totalnetnh.net) to have us put a copy aside to be signed for you. 

 cover art for Abide With Me
Book List

Abide with Me (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451667028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 3/2013

Location: 
Street:
27 S Main St
Additional:
City:
Concord
,
Province:
New Hampshire
Postal Code:
03301
Country:
United States

New books, new trailers

Doris Kearns Goodwin, bestselling author of Team of Rivals, recounts the New Year’s Day when Abraham Lincoln, and his steady hand, signed the Emancipation Proclamation.

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Weekly newsletter, with add-on Hedrick Smith event! January 20th, 2015

Just added!
Hedrick Smith, Pulitzer Prize winning journalist and author of Who Stole the American Dream?, will be in the bookstore from 4:15-5:15 PM tomorrow, Wednesday, January 21. He's in the state to help get money out of politics and inspire regular folks to get in.  We're hosting him right after he appears at the Capitol Center.  Please join us for a fascinating conversation and booksigning.
Open microphone!
This month's meeting of the Poetry Society of New Hampshire is open to all and this month it is purely open mic. Do you have a poem in your pocket? Would you like to nominate a new state poem? Whatever your pleasure, come on down, to read or just to listen. That's Wed., Jan. 21, at 7 PM.
(By the way, we don't think NH should have a "state poem" unless it's by Robert Frost, and honestly not even then.)
Thursday, Jan. 22, 7 PM
One man, two lives. Author Larry Duberstein joins us to present Five Bullets, a powerful story of humanity and inhumanity in this tale of war, survival and healing.
"...Larry Duberstein’s Five Bullets offers a heartrending examination of the Holocaust and its aftermath...Haunting as it is compelling, Five Bullets offers an engaging, intelligent meditation on memory, hope, and survival.” ~Marc Schuster, Small Press Reviews
Friday, Jan.23 7 PM
It was murder! Local author Parker Riggs shares her new murder mystery with you... what a way to start the weekend! It's got the CIA... it's got the FBI ... it's got the international art world and more intrigue than you can shake a stick at! Come celebrate local writing with Parker Riggs!
 
We at Gibson's Bookstore believe in the importance of reading. That's why we've pledged to read with book lovers across America on National Readathon Day !
We'll also be hosting a Readathon Party! Join us from 12-4pm on January 24th to make #timetoread!
Please support our commitment by making a contribution to our page. Donations will support the National Book Foundation (http://nationalbook.org/), a non-profit that is expanding the audience for literature in America through programs like BookUp, The Innovations in Reading Prize, and the National Book Awards.
The mission of the National Book Foundation is to expand the audience for literature in America. Through programs like BookUp, our afterschool reading program; 5 Under 35, our annual award celebrating young writers; the Innovations in Reading Prize, which recognizes programs and individuals doing remarkable work in ther service of literature; and the National Book Awards, we strive to ensure Americans of all ages and backgrounds can attain and engage with literature in a meaningful way.Donating through this website is simple, fast and totally secure. It is also the most efficient way to support our fundraising efforts.
Many thanks for your support -- and don't forget to forward this to anyone who you think might want to donate too!

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer