Sabin Willett, "Abide with Me"

03/28/2013 7:00 pm
Thursday, March 28th, 2013, 7 p.m.

Abide With Me is a modern day retelling of Wuthering Heights with a story of obsessive and tragic love. Like Heathcliff and Cathy, Roy Murphy and Emma Herrick’s passionate bond crosses the social gap that separates the no-good boy from “the Park” and the privileged girl from the house on the hill, The Heights. But unlike the Brontë classic, the reader follows Roy when he leaves town, fighting in Afghanistan at the height of the Taliban insurgency. Booklist has called this novel “fiercely authentic…Masterfully blending small-town gossip with the inner obsessions of a quiet veteran. Willett’s densely layered prose will appeal to fans of James A. Michener and Anthony Swofford.”  

Since 2005, Sabin has represented, pro bono, prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, winning freedom for Chinese dissident Uighurs who have since been resettled in Bermuda, Sweden, the Pacific island of Palau, and elsewhere. He is a frequent speaker and writer on Guantanamo and the so-called "War on Terror." At the Guantanamo Bay Naval station he met soldiers, sailors and Marines; his novel Abide with Me draws in part from that experience.

 Can't make the event? Call us (603-224-0562) or email us (gibsons@totalnetnh.net) to have us put a copy aside to be signed for you. 

 cover art for Abide With Me
Book List

Abide with Me (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451667028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 3/2013

Location: 
Street:
27 S Main St
Additional:
City:
Concord
,
Province:
New Hampshire
Postal Code:
03301
Country:
United States

New books, new trailers

Wednesday, August 6th, 2014, 7 p.m., join us as the wildly talented best-selling author Lily King joins us to present her new novel, Euphoria! Inspired by events in the life of revolutionary anthropologist Margaret Mead, Euphoria tells the story of three trailblazing anthropologists caught in a passionate love triangle in 1930s New Guinea.

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Created by: twitter website widget

Rebecca Makkai on Wednesday - Waldo, found! on Thursday. July 30th, 2014

 Wednesday, July 30, 7 PM
Rebecca Makkai joins us to present her new novel, The Hundred-Year House--a dazzlingly original, mordantly witty novel about the secrets of an old-money family and their turn-of-the-century estate, Laurelfield. We hope you'll remember Rebecca as the author of one of our best sellers over the last few years, The Borrower, in which Lucy Hull, a children’s librarian in Hannibal, Missouri, finds herself both kidnapper and kidnapped when her favorite patron, ten-year-old Ian Drake, runs away from home.
"Rarely is a first novel as smart and engaging and learned and funny and moving as The Borrower." —Richard Russo

Where's Waldo Wrap-Up Party! Thursday, July 31, 6 PM
A wrap-up party for our July scavenger hunt! Did you find him? Prizes, games, fun!
To enter our prize drawings, find and collect "I found Waldo!" stamps on your passport from 20 different downtown businesses (there are 24 out there). Click here for details.
There will be a costume contest, with 1st and 2nd prizes given for the best costumes (Waldo, Wenda, or Woof)!

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer