Major events in December!

Tickets are going fast for our events with Donald Hall (Dec. 4, 6 PM) and Peter Yarrow and Noel Paul Stookey of Peter Paul and Mary (December 12, 6 PM). Follow the links for more info and ticket details.  These are offsite events.

But wait, it's still November! Join us on Sat., Nov. 29, as we welcome some of our favorite authors throughout the day and turn them into booksellers! Details here

Sabin Willett, "Abide with Me"

03/28/2013 7:00 pm
Thursday, March 28th, 2013, 7 p.m.

Abide With Me is a modern day retelling of Wuthering Heights with a story of obsessive and tragic love. Like Heathcliff and Cathy, Roy Murphy and Emma Herrick’s passionate bond crosses the social gap that separates the no-good boy from “the Park” and the privileged girl from the house on the hill, The Heights. But unlike the Brontë classic, the reader follows Roy when he leaves town, fighting in Afghanistan at the height of the Taliban insurgency. Booklist has called this novel “fiercely authentic…Masterfully blending small-town gossip with the inner obsessions of a quiet veteran. Willett’s densely layered prose will appeal to fans of James A. Michener and Anthony Swofford.”  

Since 2005, Sabin has represented, pro bono, prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, winning freedom for Chinese dissident Uighurs who have since been resettled in Bermuda, Sweden, the Pacific island of Palau, and elsewhere. He is a frequent speaker and writer on Guantanamo and the so-called "War on Terror." At the Guantanamo Bay Naval station he met soldiers, sailors and Marines; his novel Abide with Me draws in part from that experience.

 Can't make the event? Call us (603-224-0562) or email us (gibsons@totalnetnh.net) to have us put a copy aside to be signed for you. 

 cover art for Abide With Me
Book List

Abide with Me (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451667028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 3/2013

Location: 
Street:
27 S Main St
Additional:
City:
Concord
,
Province:
New Hampshire
Postal Code:
03301
Country:
United States

New books, new trailers

Station Eleven has captivated several of our store staff, but Tracy was the first to write a review of it. Check it out!

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Busiest week of the year! Bill Littlefield, Ernie Hebert, Tomie dePaola, all at Gibson's. November 17th, 2014

What a week at Gibson's!
This may be our busiest week of the year for events. Read on...
 
Tuesday, Nov. 18, 7 PM  Bill Littlefield! If you're up early enough on Saturday, you may (as we do) reward yourselves with the fantastic sports show Only a Game, hosted by Bill Littlefield, heard on WBUR and on our own NHPR. Bill has written and collected some whimsical light verse, all on the subject of sports. Join us as he shares his poems with a Concord audience! He'll be here on Nov. 18. Come early to get a good seat! His signed book will be a wonderful Christmas present for the sports nuts on your list.
Friday, Nov. 21, 7 PM   Ernie Hebert now concludes the Darby Chronicles, which he began 35 years ago with The Dogs of March.
"Ernie Hebert's novels don't just capture New England; they've become a part of it...and his latest is a spectacular addition to an already impressive canon."—Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of My Sister's Keeper and Vanishing Acts
Part Falstaff, part King Lear, but all American, Howard Elman was a fifty-something workingman when he burst onto the literary scene in The Dogs of March. Now in this, the seventh and last installment in the series, the Darby constable is an eighty-something widower who wants to do "a great thing" before he motors off into the sunset. You can bet he does ... in strange, wonderful, and dangerous ways.
Saturday, Nov. 22, 10 AM   Meet Tomie dePaola at Gibson's!
After a brief presentation about his new book, Jack, Tomie will sign copies of all his books, new and old, and will also sign copies of the latest issue of New Hampshire Home, which has a fascinating and sumptuous spread featuring his art studio.  
Jack is Tomie's take on traditional “Jack tales”—in which a young hero ventures out to seek his fortune and gains it through luck or pluck. This book is perfect for preschoolers and kids in the early grades!. His hero’s reward is a wealth of animal friends who increase in number—and volume—as the story progresses. What a treat! Don't forget--Christmas is coming. A new Tomie is a great gift.
(Note: a bad date for this event sneaked into an ad in the Hippo. It's Saturday. For real.)
Watch for our email tomorrow about two ticketed December events, both offsite. See below!

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer