You are here

Sabin Willett, "Abide with Me"

Thursday, March 28th, 2013, 7 p.m.

Abide With Me is a modern day retelling of Wuthering Heights with a story of obsessive and tragic love. Like Heathcliff and Cathy, Roy Murphy and Emma Herrick’s passionate bond crosses the social gap that separates the no-good boy from “the Park” and the privileged girl from the house on the hill, The Heights. But unlike the Brontë classic, the reader follows Roy when he leaves town, fighting in Afghanistan at the height of the Taliban insurgency. Booklist has called this novel “fiercely authentic…Masterfully blending small-town gossip with the inner obsessions of a quiet veteran. Willett’s densely layered prose will appeal to fans of James A. Michener and Anthony Swofford.”  

Since 2005, Sabin has represented, pro bono, prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, winning freedom for Chinese dissident Uighurs who have since been resettled in Bermuda, Sweden, the Pacific island of Palau, and elsewhere. He is a frequent speaker and writer on Guantanamo and the so-called "War on Terror." At the Guantanamo Bay Naval station he met soldiers, sailors and Marines; his novel Abide with Me draws in part from that experience.

 Can't make the event? Call us (603-224-0562) or email us (gibsons@totalnetnh.net) to have us put a copy aside to be signed for you. 

 cover art for Abide With Me
Event date: 
Thursday, March 28, 2013 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
27 S Main St
03301 Concord
us
$16.00
ISBN: 9781451667028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 5th, 2013

A small-town bad boy, forged into a man in the fires of Afghanistan, returns home, still burning with a romantic obsession nothing can quench.


New books, new trailers

Join us on Saturday, June 13th at 11 AM as football agent and writer Sean Stellato shares his new book, No Backing Down, a true story of teammates overcoming adversity. Stellato represents several NFL stars including the New England Patriots Joe Vellano, Jonas Gray, and Ryan Allen, and the Philadelphia Eagles Bryan Braman. *The first 20 copies of No Backing Down sold will include a signed Patriots photo from an active player!*

 

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer