Sabin Willett, "Abide with Me"

03/28/2013 7:00 pm
Thursday, March 28th, 2013, 7 p.m.

Abide With Me is a modern day retelling of Wuthering Heights with a story of obsessive and tragic love. Like Heathcliff and Cathy, Roy Murphy and Emma Herrick’s passionate bond crosses the social gap that separates the no-good boy from “the Park” and the privileged girl from the house on the hill, The Heights. But unlike the Brontë classic, the reader follows Roy when he leaves town, fighting in Afghanistan at the height of the Taliban insurgency. Booklist has called this novel “fiercely authentic…Masterfully blending small-town gossip with the inner obsessions of a quiet veteran. Willett’s densely layered prose will appeal to fans of James A. Michener and Anthony Swofford.”  

Since 2005, Sabin has represented, pro bono, prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, winning freedom for Chinese dissident Uighurs who have since been resettled in Bermuda, Sweden, the Pacific island of Palau, and elsewhere. He is a frequent speaker and writer on Guantanamo and the so-called "War on Terror." At the Guantanamo Bay Naval station he met soldiers, sailors and Marines; his novel Abide with Me draws in part from that experience.

 Can't make the event? Call us (603-224-0562) or email us (gibsons@totalnetnh.net) to have us put a copy aside to be signed for you. 

 cover art for Abide With Me
Book List

Abide with Me (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451667028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 3/2013

Location: 
Street:
27 S Main St
Additional:
City:
Concord
,
Province:
New Hampshire
Postal Code:
03301
Country:
United States

New books, new trailers


The Thing The Book: A Monument to the Book as Object

What exactly is a book? This wildly inventive and thought-provoking volume asks that question of more than 30 of today's top creative visionaries.

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Love in the air; debris in the water. February 11th, 2015


Thursday, Feb. 12, 7 PM
Love is in the air as eight (at least) New Hampshire writers join us to read and celebrate their stories that have been collected in this highly entertaining new book. Love Free or Die is the latest in Plaidswede Publishing's Pulp Fiction series. These are all stories on classic New Hampshire themes, in settings all over the state. Come join us for an evening of literature and fun!

 
 
 
Erik Larson
Erik Larson Comes to Concord!
Gibson's Bookstore is pleased to announce that historian Erik Larson--author of Devil in the White City, Isaac's Storm, In the Garden of Beasts, and Thunderstruck--will appear in Concord on March 13 at 7 PM to discuss and sign his new book, Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania.
Vivid and brimming with fascinating stories, Dead Wake is the full and unforgettable portrait of a vanished world on the brink of catastrophic war.
This event will be in the Concord High School Auditorium. Tickets are now available at the bookstore website. For the price of the book, $28.00, you'll receive a signed book and a ticket. Tickets without books are $5 each.  If we do not sell out prior to the event, tickets will also be available at the door.
Don't miss the non-fiction event of the season! Order your tickets today.
 
 
 
For our full schedule of events, please visit www.gibsonsbookstore.com , and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr.
 
 
Book club rescheduled
Monday, February 16, at 7 PM
Every February, our book group meets for a discussion and dramatic reading of a play by Shakespeare. This year we're doing Othello. This meeting was originally planned for Monday, Feb. 2, but was rescheduled due to snow.  We hope for clear skies, easy driving, and any tragic outcomes only on the page. All are welcome!
(Laurence Fishburne as Othello and Kenneth Branagh as Iago, in the 1995 movie.)

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer