Sabin Willett, "Abide with Me"

03/28/2013 7:00 pm
Thursday, March 28th, 2013, 7 p.m.

Abide With Me is a modern day retelling of Wuthering Heights with a story of obsessive and tragic love. Like Heathcliff and Cathy, Roy Murphy and Emma Herrick’s passionate bond crosses the social gap that separates the no-good boy from “the Park” and the privileged girl from the house on the hill, The Heights. But unlike the Brontë classic, the reader follows Roy when he leaves town, fighting in Afghanistan at the height of the Taliban insurgency. Booklist has called this novel “fiercely authentic…Masterfully blending small-town gossip with the inner obsessions of a quiet veteran. Willett’s densely layered prose will appeal to fans of James A. Michener and Anthony Swofford.”  

Since 2005, Sabin has represented, pro bono, prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, winning freedom for Chinese dissident Uighurs who have since been resettled in Bermuda, Sweden, the Pacific island of Palau, and elsewhere. He is a frequent speaker and writer on Guantanamo and the so-called "War on Terror." At the Guantanamo Bay Naval station he met soldiers, sailors and Marines; his novel Abide with Me draws in part from that experience.

 Can't make the event? Call us (603-224-0562) or email us (gibsons@totalnetnh.net) to have us put a copy aside to be signed for you. 

 cover art for Abide With Me
Book List

Abide with Me (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451667028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 3/2013

Location: 
Street:
27 S Main St
Additional:
City:
Concord
,
Province:
New Hampshire
Postal Code:
03301
Country:
United States

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Attention history buffs, poetry lovers, and beer enthusiasts. August 18th, 2014


Tuesday, August 19, 7 PM
Join us as we welcome Jessica Lander, author of Driving Backwards, to Gibson's Bookstore.  Driving Backwards is a memoir of Gilmanton, which briefly was the best known small town in the United States. Read more about this fascinating book here, and please join us!
“Take a small town, add a fresh voice, mix in some truly memorable detail, and you have Driving Backwards. Charming, vivid, informative, and a little bit scandalous, it crosses Robert Frost with John McPhee—just marvelous.”  —Gish Jen, author of The Love Wife and Tiger Writing
Meet the Poet Laureate of NH, Alice Fogel, and fellow poet Patrice Pinette,
Wed., August 20, at 7 PM
The Poetry Society of New Hampshire meets at Gibson's on the third Wednesday of each month. This month, our guests are Alice Fogel and Patrice Pinette. Their readings will be followed by an open-mic event. Come to read, come to listen--all are welcome!


New Hampshire Beer! Thursday, Aug. 21, 7 PM
Come learn all about the history and craft of brewing beer in New Hampshire!
Brian Aldrich started writing about beer for his blog Seacoast Beverage Lab in March 2010. Along with his blog and craft beer podcast, Brian is the beer master at the Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, providing guests with a unique craft beer experience. He lives in Newfields, New Hampshire, with his wife, Lisa, and dog Madison. Visit him at www.seacoastbeveragelab.com.
We've just learned--happy coincidence!--that our friends in True Brew Cafe will be hosting a beer tasting at the same time as our author event. This will be a great night at Gibson's for beer lovers!

August sale!
You deserve a reward if you've read this far. Our annual August sale will be this weekend, Friday through Sunday. Almost everything in the store, plus most special orders, will be 25% off! Tell all your friends!
Store hours for the sale: Fri-Sat 9-9; Sun 11-6.

New store hours
We're making a minor adjustment to our store hours, starting next week (August 25). Our new store hours will be Monday through Wednesday from 9 AM to 7 PM; Thursday through Saturday from 9 AM to 9 PM; and Sunday from 11-6.
(The short version of why? Concord does not have a lot of night life early in the week. But when we have events we will stay open late, until 9 PM, even on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. Call ahead to check.)

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer