To our valued customers: 

We are pleased to report that our website is secured against the Heartbleed bug. As an added precaution we ask that returning customers change their account password at this time. Please simply log in to your account and change your password.

Thank you for your continued support!

Sabin Willett, "Abide with Me"

03/28/2013 7:00 pm
Thursday, March 28th, 2013, 7 p.m.

Abide With Me is a modern day retelling of Wuthering Heights with a story of obsessive and tragic love. Like Heathcliff and Cathy, Roy Murphy and Emma Herrick’s passionate bond crosses the social gap that separates the no-good boy from “the Park” and the privileged girl from the house on the hill, The Heights. But unlike the Brontë classic, the reader follows Roy when he leaves town, fighting in Afghanistan at the height of the Taliban insurgency. Booklist has called this novel “fiercely authentic…Masterfully blending small-town gossip with the inner obsessions of a quiet veteran. Willett’s densely layered prose will appeal to fans of James A. Michener and Anthony Swofford.”  

Since 2005, Sabin has represented, pro bono, prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, winning freedom for Chinese dissident Uighurs who have since been resettled in Bermuda, Sweden, the Pacific island of Palau, and elsewhere. He is a frequent speaker and writer on Guantanamo and the so-called "War on Terror." At the Guantanamo Bay Naval station he met soldiers, sailors and Marines; his novel Abide with Me draws in part from that experience.

 Can't make the event? Call us (603-224-0562) or email us (gibsons@totalnetnh.net) to have us put a copy aside to be signed for you. 

 cover art for Abide With Me
Book List

Abide with Me (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451667028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 3/2013

Location: 
Street:
27 S Main St
Additional:
City:
Concord
,
Province:
New Hampshire
Postal Code:
03301
Country:
United States

New books, new trailers

Wednesday, April 2nd, 2014, 7 PM, join us as Douglas Whynott presents The Sugar Season: A Year in the Life of Maple Syrup, and One Family's Quest for the Sweetest Harvest. Check out this fun video of Douglas and Virginia Prescott (NHPR, Word of Mouth) performing a blind taste test of different maple syrup varieties.

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Created by: twitter website widget

Newsletter

Visiting superstars: Blanco, Korn, Greenlaw, Bohjalian, Chiasson. April 15th, 2014

Richard Blanco

 
Meet Richard Blanco!
The marvelous poet who was chosen to read at President Obama's 2012 inauguration will be in Concord on Wed., April 16, at 7 PM, at the Concord Public Library. We'll be there selling his books, including his memoir, For All of Us, One Today, and his many volumes of poetry, like
Boston Strong: The Poem to Benefit the One Fund Boston.


 
Why We Make Things
Meet Peter Korn!
One of the most interesting books of this or any season, Why We Make Things is both a memoir and a meditation on the nature of creativity.  The book itself was sumptuously produced by one of the last true craftsmen in publishing, David Godine. Join us at the League of NH Craftsmen on Thursday, April 17, at 5:30 PM, to hear the author and to ask him questions--and maybe to pick up an early Father's Day present.
 
Chris Bohjalian
 
A rare local appearance by Chris Bohjalian!
Wed., May 7, at 7 PM
When Chris learned that our in-store book group had chosen his novel The Sandcastle Girls for May, he required little convincing to agree to come talk about it. Armenian history is very important to him. You don't have to have read the novel to attend. Come hear Chris talk about this important topic, and about his many other novels as well. Open to all fans of Chris Bohjalian and students of history!
Chris Bohjalian's excellent new novel, Close Your Eyes, Hold Hands, will be on our shelves on July 8. Reserve your copy today!
 
Dan Chiasson
 
Mark Your Calendars!
One of  America's most interesting poets and essayists, Dan Chiasson, joins us at the bookstore on Thurs., April 24, at 7 PM, to read and sign his new collection of verse, Bicentennial. Dan's work appears often in The New Yorker and The New York Review of Books.


 
Linda Greenlaw
 
Mark Your Calendars!
Linda Greenlaw, the swordfish boat captain who first came to fame in The Perfect Storm, and who has written many fabulous memoirs and novels about life at sea, now faces her greatest battle with nature—a newly adopted teenage daughter. Meet Linda on Monday, April 28, at 7 PM, here in the bookstore.

 

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer