Sabin Willett, "Abide with Me"

03/28/2013 7:00 pm
Thursday, March 28th, 2013, 7 p.m.

Abide With Me is a modern day retelling of Wuthering Heights with a story of obsessive and tragic love. Like Heathcliff and Cathy, Roy Murphy and Emma Herrick’s passionate bond crosses the social gap that separates the no-good boy from “the Park” and the privileged girl from the house on the hill, The Heights. But unlike the Brontë classic, the reader follows Roy when he leaves town, fighting in Afghanistan at the height of the Taliban insurgency. Booklist has called this novel “fiercely authentic…Masterfully blending small-town gossip with the inner obsessions of a quiet veteran. Willett’s densely layered prose will appeal to fans of James A. Michener and Anthony Swofford.”  

Since 2005, Sabin has represented, pro bono, prisoners at Guantanamo Bay, winning freedom for Chinese dissident Uighurs who have since been resettled in Bermuda, Sweden, the Pacific island of Palau, and elsewhere. He is a frequent speaker and writer on Guantanamo and the so-called "War on Terror." At the Guantanamo Bay Naval station he met soldiers, sailors and Marines; his novel Abide with Me draws in part from that experience.

 Can't make the event? Call us (603-224-0562) or email us (gibsons@totalnetnh.net) to have us put a copy aside to be signed for you. 

 cover art for Abide With Me
Book List

Abide with Me (Paperback)

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451667028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 3/2013

Location: 
Street:
27 S Main St
Additional:
City:
Concord
,
Province:
New Hampshire
Postal Code:
03301
Country:
United States

New books, new trailers

Station Eleven has captivated several of our store staff, but Tracy was the first to write a review of it. Check it out!

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Publishers share all the best books on Friday; meet Archer Mayor on Saturday! October 14th, 2014

 
Meet the publishers! An event for book clubs and bookish people
On Friday, October 17, starting at 6 PM, some of our favorite reps will be here to discuss what's new and what's hot for book clubs and for everyone who just loves a good read. Whether you're currently a member of a book club or just think you read enough to be in one, this is a great event for you. Pictured above and expected to attend: John Muse from Simon & Schuster, Lesley Vasilio from Penguin Random House, and Ellen Pyle from Macmillan. Also scheduled to appear is Anne DeCourcey (below)from HarperCollins. We'll have refreshments and great giveaways. Everyone is welcome!

Surprise author visit!
We had thought that scheduling conflicts would keep Vermont mystery writer Archer Mayor (below, right) from visiting Gibson's this fall, but as luck would have it, he's free this Saturday afternoon from 1:30 to 2:30 and he will be here in the store!  Drop by to have a copy of his new book signed and to shoot the breeze for a while. ...Note: we're not sure if he's bringing that chain saw, so just be nice.


Some big books for fall
Dan Chartrand from Water Street and I visited Laura Knoy last week to talk about some of the best books for fall. If you missed the show, you can find our lists and listen to the broadcast here.  ... Here's a photo in which I was making some point or other--who knows, really--much to the apparent amusement of Dan.

And that's it for now! Thank you for reading!
For our full events schedule go to www.gibsonsbookstore.com.  And why not follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and (dare we say it? are we ready?) Tumblr.

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer