Youth Fiction Books Featuring LGBTQ+ People

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James By Ashley Herring Blake Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316515542
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 24th, 2020

Twelve-year-old Sunny St. James navigates heart surgery, reconnecting with her lost mother, first kisses, and emerging feelings for another girl in this stunning, heartfelt novel.


2020 Odyssey Honor Award
2020 Rainbow Booklist Title
NCTE 2020 Notable Poetry Book
ALSC Notable Children's Recordings


Staff Pick Badge
Jo: An Adaptation of Little Women (Sort Of) By Kathleen Gros, Kathleen Gros (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kathleen Gros, Kathleen Gros (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062875969
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 22nd, 2020

A modern-day graphic novel adaptation of Little Women that explores identity, friendships, and new experiences through the eyes of thirteen-year-old Jo March. A must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier.


Where the Heart Is By Jo Knowles Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781536219029
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - April 13th, 2021

If home is where the heart is, what would happen if you lost it? Compassion and humor infuse the story of a family caught in financial crisis and a girl struggling to form her own identity.


Hurricane Season By Nicole Melleby Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9781643750323
Availability: Backordered
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - March 17th, 2020

For Fig’s dad, hurricane season brings the music.
For Fig, hurricane season brings the possibility of disaster.
 
Fig, a sixth grader, loves her dad and the home they share in a beachside town. She does not love the long months of hurricane season. Her father, a once-renowned piano player, sometimes goes looking for the music in the middle of a storm.


Hurricane Child (Scholastic Gold) By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338129311
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - October 1st, 2019

Prepare to be swept up by this exquisite novel that reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways.

Winner of the Stonewall Book AwardWinner of the Lambda Literary AwardCaroline Murphy is a Hurricane Child.Being born during a hurricane is unlucky, and 12-year-old Caroline has had her share of bad luck lately.


King and the Dragonflies By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338129335
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - February 4th, 2020

A 2021 Coretta Scott King Honor Book!

Winner of the 2020 National Book Award for Young People's Literature!

Winner of the 2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Fiction and Poetry!

In a small but turbulent Louisiana town, one boy's grief takes him beyond the bayous of his backyard, to learn that there is no right way to be yourself.


The Whispers By Greg Howard Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525517511
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - January 14th, 2020

A heartrending coming-of-age tale set in the South, perfect for fans of Bridge to Terabithia and Counting By 7s. Now in paperback.


The Best at It By Maulik Pancholy Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062866424
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 6th, 2020

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month,” this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series.


Snapdragon By Kat Leyh Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250171115
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 4th, 2020

Kat Leyh's Snapdragon is a magical realist graphic novel about a young girl who befriends her town’s witch and discovers the strange magic within herself.

Snap's town had a witch.


Melissa (previously published as GEORGE) By Alex Gino Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338843415
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - April 19th, 2022

BE WHO YOU ARE.

When people look at Melissa, they think they see a boy named George. But she knows she's not a boy. She knows she's a girl.

Melissa thinks she'll have to keep this a secret forever. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte's Web. Melissa really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte.


The Witch Boy: A Graphic Novel (The Witch Boy Trilogy #1) By Molly Knox Ostertag Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338089516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 31st, 2017

From the illustrator of the web comic Strong Female Protagonist comes a debut middle-grade graphic novel about family, identity, courage -- and magic.

In thirteen-year-old Aster's family, all the girls are raised to be witches, while boys grow up to be shapeshifters. Anyone who dares cross those lines is exiled. Unfortunately for Aster, he still hasn't shifted . . .


The Moon Within (Scholastic Gold) By Aida Salazar Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338283389
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - May 5th, 2020

The dazzling story of a girl navigating friendship, family, and growing up, an Are You There God, It's Me Margaret? for the modern day, from debut author Aida Salazar.

****Four starred reviews!****

* "A worthy successor to Are You There God?


The Deep & Dark Blue By Niki Smith Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316486019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

The Witch Boy meets The Legend of Korra in this breathtaking, epic graphic novel.
After a terrible political coup usurps their noble house, Hawke and Grayson flee to stay alive and assume new identities, Hanna and Grayce. Desperation and chance lead them to the Communion of Blue, an order of magical women who spin the threads of reality to their will.


Zenobia July By Lisa Bunker Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451479402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - May 21st, 2019

The critically acclaimed author of Felix Yz crafts a bold, heartfelt story about a trans girl solving a cyber mystery and coming into her own.


Cattywampus By Ash Van Otterloo Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338561609
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - February 1st, 2022

The magical story of a hex that goes haywire, and the power of friendship to set things right!

In the town of Howler's Hollow, conjuring magic is strictly off-limits. Only nothing makes Delpha McGill's skin crawl more than rules. So when she finds her family's secret book of hexes, she's itching to use it to banish her mama's money troubles.


Staff Pick Badge
Rick By Alex Gino Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338048100
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - April 21st, 2020

From the award-winning author of George, the story of a boy named Rick who needs to explore his own identity apart from his jerk of a best friend.

Rick's never questioned much. He's gone along with his best friend Jeff even when Jeff's acted like a bully and a jerk.


The Best Man By Richard Peck Cover Image
$8.99
It's Complicated - Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780147515797
Published: Puffin Books - September 5th, 2017

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.


Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World By Ashley Herring Blake Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316515474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

In the wake of a destructive tornado, one girl develops feelings for another in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.


Lumberjanes Vol. 1: Beware The Kitten Holy By ND Stevenson, Shannon Watters, Gus A. Allen (Illustrator), Grace Ellis Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781608866878
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: BOOM! Box - April 7th, 2015

Five best friends spending the summer at Lumberjane scout camp...defeating yetis, three-eyed wolves, and giant falcons...what’s not to love?!

Friendship to the max! Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are five best pals determined to have an awesome summer together...and they’re not gonna let any insane quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way!


Frankie & Bug By Gayle Forman Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534482531
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - October 12th, 2021

“Joyful, occasionally heartbreaking, deeply moving.” —R. J.


The Insiders By Mark Oshiro Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063008106
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - September 21st, 2021

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * An ALA Rainbow Book List Top 10 Title for Young Readers

Three kids who don’t belong. A room that shouldn’t exist. A year that will change everything.