Red Queen (Hardcover)

Is it in stock?

If the item is in stock in our store, it will say 'on our shelves now'.

If it is not in the store but available, it will say 'usually ships in 1-5 days'. Please let us know if you need it quickly.

If the item is designated "special order," it may be out of print and unavailable. We will advise.

Staff Pick Badge
Red Queen Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Red Queen series.

Staff Reviews


Ryan's March 2015 pick, 1 of 2

Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard

I judged this book by it's incredibly cool cover, and luckily for me, it worked out in my favor. Red Queen is an action-packed fantasy that fans of The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones will love. There's romance, violence, betrayal, and a quest for power in which no one is safe and you can't trust anyone. This book is electric and magical, and I couldn't put it down.

— From Ryan Elizabeth Clark

Description


The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

Red Queen, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard, is a sweeping tale of power, intrigue, and betrayal, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction.

One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

And don’t miss Broken Throne: A Red Queen Collection, featuring three brand-new novellas and other exclusive content, coming in April!

About the Author


Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She currently splits her time between the East and West coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies. You can visit her online at www.victoriaaveyard.com.

Praise For…


“A sizzling, imaginative thriller, where romance and revolution collide, where power and justice duel. It’s exhilarating. Compelling. Action-packed. Unputdownable.”
— USA Today

“Aveyard weaves a compelling new world of action-packed surprises... inventive, character-driven.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“A volatile world with a dynamic heroine.”
— Booklist

“Breakneck pace and engaging characters.”
— School Library Journal

“ [Aveyard] sets her audience up for a gaspworthy twist that reconfigures nearly every character’s role and leaves Mare with no one to trust but herself... This blend of fantasy and dystopia will be an unexpected and worthy addition to many genre fans’ reading list.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Fascinating world building... Readers will be intrigued by a world that reflects today’s troubling issues concerning ethnic inequality, unfair distribution of wealth, pollution, warfare, political corruption, and the frightening power of the media.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062310637
ISBN-10: 0062310631
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 10th, 2015
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Red Queen