Other Words for Home (Hardcover)

Is it in stock?

If the item is in stock in our store, it will say 'on our shelves now'.

If it is not in the store but available, it will say 'usually ships in 1-5 days'. Please let us know if you need it quickly.

If the item is designated "special order," it may be out of print and unavailable. We will advise.

Staff Pick Badge
Other Words for Home Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 15 12:45pm
(Youth Fiction)

Staff Reviews


Cheri's May 2019 pick, 1 of 3

Jude is a young girl from Syria. As tensions rise in her country, and life becomes more dangerous, Jude and her mother move to the United States to live with her Uncle. Jude struggles with missing Syria, and her father and brother. While at her Uncle’s, Jude enrolls in school and begins the difficult task of learning English and finding her place in this new country. Her cousin, Sarah, was born in the United States, but doesn’t seem interested in helping her cousin fit in. Jude also experiences strangers who seem to feel the same way. She does find a taste of home, however, when she meets Layla, whose parents own a Lebanese restaurant. As Jude perseveres, she decides to tryout for the school’s play and lands a part. Jude soon learns that she can live in both worlds. This is a lovely telling of a refugee’s story, written through poetry.

— From Cheri Perelli

Summer 2019 Kids Indie Next List


Other Words for Home is such an important book and should be required reading for every student at a middle-grade reading level. The character of Jude teaches us empathy as we read what it’s like to be a young teenager from Syria trying to fit in in America. She tries to learn the English language while tackling discrimination and classmates unwilling to understand and accept her, including her cousin of the same age. Jasmine Warga has created a story that is both powerful and gentle, big but full of small moments, a happy but sad story that will live in your heart.”
— Marilyn Robbins, BookBar, Denver, CO

Description


A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

About the Author


Jasmine Warga is the author of My Heart and Other Black Holes, which has been translated into over twenty languages, and Here We Are Now. Her debut middle grade book is Other Words for Home. She lives and writes in Cincinnati, Ohio. You can visit Jasmine online at www.jasminewarga.com.

Praise For…


[In] this timely book... rhythmic lines distill Jude’s deepest emotions…. Warga effectively shows, as she writes in an author’s note, that “children who are fleeing from a war zone... want the same things all of us do—love, understanding, safety, a chance at happiness.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Warga portrays with extraordinary talent the transformation of a family’s life before and after the war began in Syria.… Her free-verse narration cuts straight to the bone... [and] confront[s] the difficult realities of being Muslim and Arab in the U.S. Poetic, immersive, hopeful.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Warga’s middle-grade debut puts its hands around your heart and holds it, ever so gently, so that you’re aware of your own fragility and resilience: just as Jude is while her life changes drastically… Other Words for Home should find its way into every middle-grade reader’s hands.”
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

“This powerful middle grade novel explores the complicated concepts of war and corruption, home, family, [and] belonging.... Highly recommended for all libraries, this title will easily find a home next to books like Refugee by Alan Gratz and Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Convincing and authentic, infused with thoughtfulness, humor, determination, and hope…. A realistic portrait of the strength it takes to move to a new country, as well as of the complicated dynamics between first- and second-generation immigrants.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“Warga situates her verse novel at a sweet spot for middle-graders…the complications of assessing whether Jude is as lucky as everyone makes her out to be ring poignantly true, and when Jude takes her place on the school stage, Warga’s audience will surely applaud.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Through Jude’s eyes readers see firsthand what it is to leave behind one’s beloved home and family as many refugees do every single day. Young readers will laugh with Jude, cry with her, and root for her every step of the way. A beautiful, powerful, and necessary book.”
— Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author of Amal Unbound.

Other Words for Home is a gorgeously written middle grade novel with words that soar off the page. Told in stunning verse and featuring an effortlessly lovable narrator, this book will be a staple of middle grade shelves for years to come.”
— Rachel Strolle, Teen Librarian, Glenside Public Library

“This is a necessary story. We’re lucky to have it in the world.”
— Jason Reynolds, award-winning, bestselling author of Ghost and Long Way Down
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062747808
ISBN-10: 0062747800
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 28th, 2019
Pages: 352
Language: English