Anya and the Dragon (Hardcover)

Is it in stock?

If the item is in stock in our store, it will say 'on our shelves now'.

If it is not in the store but available, it will say 'usually ships in 1-5 days'. Please let us know if you need it quickly.

If the item is designated "special order," it may be out of print and unavailable. We will advise.

Staff Pick Badge
Anya and the Dragon Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Mar 31 1:01am
(Youth Fiction)

Staff Reviews


Laura's September 2019 pick, 1 of 3

This book is everything I want out of middle grade fantasy. It has magic, adventure, plot twists, slapstick comedy, and a tremendously supportive and loving family. Anya, her mother, and her grandmother are the only Jewish people in their medieval Russian town, and are on the verge of being evicted by the local magistrate. Follow Anya as she strives to earn enough money to save her family farm by helping a newcomer hunt a dangerous river dragon that may not be so evil after all. This book subverts expectations at every turn in the best possible way, and I absolutely loved reading it. I will be sure to recommend it to children and adults alike as soon as it comes out.

— From Laura

Description


A 2020 Sydney Taylor Award Honor Book

This lush tale of magic and dragons is a gem for any adventure-seeking middle grader and perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time.


Anya and the Dragon is the story of fantasy and mayhem in tenth century Eastern Europe, where headstrong eleven-year-old Anya is a daughter of the only Jewish family in her village. When her family’s livelihood is threatened by a bigoted magistrate, Anya is lured in by a friendly family of fools, who promise her money in exchange for helping them capture the last dragon in Kievan Rus. This seems easy enough, until she finds out that the scary old dragon isn’t as old—or as scary—as everyone thought. Now Anya is faced with a choice: save the dragon, or save her family.

About the Author


Sofiya Pasternack is a nurse whose fondest childhood memories involve her pet goats wrecking the house. When she's not at the hospital, she can be found enjoying Utah's wild places, teaching her kids to make challah, and writing whatever new story has taken up residence in her brain. She lives in Utah.

https://www.sofiyapasternack.com
Twitter: @sofipasternack, Instagram: @sofipasternack
 

Praise For…


"With this clever, fast-paced debut, Pasternack draws upon the myth and folklore of Kievan Rus’ to deliver a delightful tale.…that never loses its sense of fun or wonder.”—Publishers Weekly

"Pasternack’s debut is an irresistible blend of moral quandaries, magic, humor, danger, and bravery. Imaginative details bestow a fairy-tale-like quality to the story, which will effortlessly ensnare historical fantasy fans."—Booklist

"[T]ruly likable characters in [an] original setting. This delightful series opener is an exciting blend of Russian and Jewish traditions."—Kirkus

"
A strong heroine and an unusual setting make this worth adding to most crowded fantasy shelves." —School Library Journal

"Pasternack eagerly depicts life in an tenth-century Russian village imbued with magic and folklore, riddled with many references to Anya’s family’s religion, their Jewish traditions, and the discrimination they face. The plot keeps readers on their toes with skillful pacing....Jewish readers may find kindred spirits in Anya’s culture, and fans of a Russian setting won’t be disappointed by this immersive novel that ends in justice."—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books​
Product Details
ISBN: 9780358006077
ISBN-10: 0358006074
Publisher: Versify
Publication Date: September 24th, 2019
Pages: 416