Wicked Nix (Hardcover)

Is it in stock?

If the item is in stock in our store, it will say 'on our shelves now'.

If it is not in the store but available, it will say 'usually ships in 1-5 days'. Please let us know if you need it quickly.

If the item is designated "special order," it may be out of print and unavailable. We will advise.

Staff Pick Badge
Wicked Nix Cover Image
By Lena Coakley, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator)
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Laura's October 2018 pick, 2 of 5
Nix’s job is to protect the forest. At least, he’s pretty sure that’s his job. Why else would the Fairy Queen have left him there after last year’s Midsummer Night’s festivities? With his hair full of twigs and his penchant for mischief, Nix knows he’s the wickedest and most hideous of the fairies. Now all he has to do is convince the human who’s just moved into his forest. For fans of Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black, and for those who grew up hearing tales of the Fey Folk, this book is sure to enchant and delight. It will definitely keep you on the edge of your seat.

— From Laura

About the Author


Lena Coakley is the author of Witchlanders and Worlds of Ink and Shadow. She concentrated in creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College and now lives in Toronto. To learn more, visit the author online at lenacoakley.com.


Jaime Zollars is inspired by fairy tales, Flemish painters, and flea-market photographs. Among other things, she is an illustrator of children’s books and book covers. She lives in Charleston, South Carolina.

Praise For…


**STARRED REVIEW**
"[Coakley] strikes a thoughtful balance between fairy tales and the realistic feelings of loss and love."

— Booklist

"Coakley offers up a secretive tale with an abundance of turns and surprises . . . readers pulled in by the premise will enjoy puzzling through unreliable-narrator Wicked Nix's mysteries. This dark twist on the old legend of stolen children is a spooky, compelling read."

— Kirkus Reviews

"This is a magical fairy tale that leaves the reader’s heart aching for an abandoned, homeless child in the forest, and culminates with a touching ending."

— School Library Connection

"Read alone or read aloud, Coakley’s tale has a tangible sense of wonder that conjures a cozy magic. A strong purchase."

— School Library Journal

"As Nix reveals himself to be an increasingly unreliable narrator, readers will guess Nix’s true nature and the human’s relation to him . . . [will] satisfy young readers who like their fairies more tricky than glitter."

— The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Product Details
ISBN: 9781419728693
ISBN-10: 1419728695
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
Publication Date: October 9th, 2018
Pages: 160
Language: English