Author Event

The Lesson, with Cadwell Turnbull

Wednesday, September 25th, 2019, 6 p.m.

The Lesson Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781538584644
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Blackstone Publishing - June 18th, 2019

An alien ship rests over Water Island. For five years the people of the US Virgin Islands have lived with the Ynaa, a race of superadvanced aliens on a research mission they will not fully disclose. They are benevolent in many ways but meet any act of aggression with disproportional wrath.


Poets Willie Perdomo and Matt W Miller

Wednesday, October 9th, 2019, 6 pm.

The Crazy Bunch (Penguin Poets) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143132691
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 2nd, 2019

From a prize-winning poet, a new collection that chronicles a weekend in the life of a group of friends coming of age in East Harlem at the dawn of the hip-hop era


The Wounded for the Water Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781910669464
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Salmon Poetry - August 7th, 2018

Miller explores the littoral zone; between the firmament of experience and understanding, between first breath and death, where strict definitions of gender, fatherhood, and masculinity swirl in the pull of tides and the curl and crush of waves. In these lyrical meditations, we are witness to our own drowning in family and history, in politics and love.


Akin, with Emma Donoghue

Thursday, September 19th, 2019, 6 p.m.

Staff Pick Badge
Akin Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316491990
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 10th, 2019

The "soul stirring" novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Room (O Magazine) is one of the best books of the year (New York Post)
Noah Selvaggio is a retired chemistry professor and widower living on the Upper West Side, but born in the South of France.


Room: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316098328
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - May 18th, 2011

Held captive for years in a small shed, a woman and her precocious young son finally gain their freedom, and the boy experiences the outside world for the first time.


Poets William O'Daly and Ben Moeller-Gaa

Tuesday, September 10th, 2019, 6 p.m.

Yarrow and Smoke (Masters #2) Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9781610192415
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Folded Word - May 5th, 2018

Wishbones Cover Image
By Ben Moeller-Gaa, J. S. Graustein (Calligrapher)
$12.00
ISBN: 9781610191166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Folded Word - October 15th, 2018

morning calm

the pacing of pages

between us


The Vandebeekers to the Rescue, with Karina Yan Glaser

Thursday, September 26th, 2019, 6 p.m.

NYT bestselling children's author Karina Yan Glaser sweeps into Gibson's Bookstore to present her new Vanderbeekers novel, The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue! This series is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks  and Front Desk!

The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328577573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 17th, 2019

A New York Times best-selling series! Harlem’s favorite family returns in the third installment in the Vanderbeerkers series, wherein the Vanderbeeker kids find themselves racing to save their mother’s baking business from city closure.


The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781328499219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

From New York Times best-selling author Karina Yan Glaser comes one of Times'  Notable Children's Books of 2017: “In this delightful and heartwarming throwback to the big-family novels of yesteryear, a large biracial family might lose their beloved brownstone home, but win it back with an all-out charm offensive.”

The Va


The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328770028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 25th, 2018

New York Times bestseller! 

Return to Harlem's "wildly entertaining" family in this funny, heartwarming sequel.


Red Sox pitching legend Luis Tiant

Tuesday, July 23rd, 2019. 6 p.m.

Son of Havana: A Baseball Journey from Cuba to the Big Leagues and Back Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781635765434
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Diversion Books - May 14th, 2019

The improbable story of Luis Tiant--a living link to the earliest days of Fidel Castro's regime, a Boston Red Sox legend, and the most qualified 20th Century pitcher not yet enshrined in the Baseball Hall of Fame


Setting the Wire: A Memoir of Postpartum Psychosis

Tuesday, September 17th, 2019, 6 p.m.

Essayist and psychotherapist Sarah C. Townsend discusses her lyrical work, Setting the Wire: A Memoir of Postpartum Psychosis, in conversation with Mary Mosseau.

Setting the Wire: A Memoir of Postpartum Psychosis Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781733549905
Availability: Special Order
Published: Lettered Streets Press - April 1st, 2019

Literary Nonfiction. Poetry. Women's Studies. SETTING THE WIRE is a memoir of postpartum psychosis and a meditation on containment: what we hold and what holds us together. A lyric exploration of motherhood, mental illness, and familial ties, Sarah C. Townsend's debut work weaves together personal anecdote, film, music, visual art, and psychology.


Pages