Book Club

Open Discussion Project: Talking to Strangers

March's discussion title will be Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know, by Malcolm Gladwell.

Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316478526
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 10th, 2019

A Best Book of the Year: The Financial Times, Bloomberg, Chicago Tribune, and Detroit Free Pres


Gibson's Book Club discusses Olive Kitteridge

Monday, February 3rd, 2020, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses Olive Kitteridge, by Elizabeth Strout.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
Olive Kitteridge: Fiction Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812971835
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - September 30th, 2008

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE • The beloved first novel featuring Olive Kitteridge, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Oprah’s Book Club pick Olive, Again
 
“Fiction lovers, remember this name: Olive Kitteridge. . . . You’ll never forget her.”—USA Today


Girl, Interrupted book discussion, with NHTI community reads

Gibson's Bookstore is partnering with NHTI for a community discussion of Girl, Interrupted, as part of NHTI's campus community read and discussion series! Join us for the evening to delve deeper into this fascinating memoir of mental illness and its treatment in the 1960s.

Girl, Interrupted Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780679746041
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 19th, 1994

In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital.


Postponed- Gibson's Book Club discusses The River

This event was been delayed as we wait for clarity on timing for reopening for small groups.

Gibson's Book Club discusses The River, by Peter Heller.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
The River: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525521877
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - March 5th, 2019

A Nominee for the 2020 Edgar Allan Poe Awards

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"A fiery tour de force… I could not put this book down. It truly was terrifying and unutterably beautiful." –Alison Borden, The Denver Post


Gibson's Virtual Book Club discusses The Pioneers

Monday, June 1st, 2020, 5:30 p.m. EDT, online only via Zoom.

Gibson's Book Club discusses The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West, by David McCullough.

Staff Pick Badge
The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781501168680
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 7th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Pulitzer Prize–winning historian David McCullough rediscovers an important and dramatic chapter in the American story—the settling of the Northwest Territory by dauntless pioneers who overcame incredible hardships to build a community based on ideals that would come to define our country.

As part of the Treaty of Paris, i


Gibson's Book Club discusses Semicolon

Monday, March 2nd, 2020, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses Semicolon: The Past, Present, and Future of a Misunderstood Mark, by Cecelia Watson.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
Semicolon: The Past, Present, and Future of a Misunderstood Mark Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062853059
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - July 30th, 2019

“Delightful.” —Mary Norris, The New Yorker


Gibson's Book Club discusses Circe

Monday, July 6th, 2020, 5:30 p.m. Online only, via Zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwsdeippz8iHNCDuU2eoE-oF3VCTZuJSeIQ

Gibson's Book Club discusses Circe, by Madeline Miller.

Staff Pick Badge
Circe Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316556323
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - April 14th, 2020

"A bold and subversive retelling of the goddess's story," this #1 New York Times bestseller is "both epic and intimate in its scope, recasting the most infamous female figure from the Odyssey as a hero in her own right" (Alexandra Alter, The New York Times).


Gibson's Book Club discusses A Little History of Philosophy

Monday, January 6th, 2020, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses A Little History of Philosophy, by Nigel Warburton.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
A Little History of Philosophy (Little Histories) Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780300187793
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yale University Press - October 30th, 2012

For readers of E. H. Gombrich's A Little History of the World, an equally irresistible volume that brings history's greatest philosophers to life

Philosophy begins with questions about the nature of reality and how we should live.


POSTPONED UNTIL DEC. 9--Gibson's Book Club discusses Cold Comfort Farm

Monday, December 2nd, 2019, 5:30 p.m. THIS BOOK CLUB MEETING HAS BEEN POSTPONED UNTIL DEC. 9 DUE TO EXPECTED WINTER STORMS

Gibson's Book Club discusses Cold Comfort Farm, by Stella Gibbons.

Staff Pick Badge
Cold Comfort Farm: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) Cover Image
By Stella Gibbons, Lynne Truss (Introduction by), Roz Chast (Illustrator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143039594
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Classics - March 28th, 2006

"Quite simply one of the funniest satirical novels of the last century." —Nancy Pearl, NPR's Morning Edition


Gibson's Book Club discusses Confederates in the Attic

Monday, November 4th, 2019, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses Confederates in the Attic: Dispatches From the Unfinished Civil War, by Tony Horwitz.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
Confederates in the Attic: Dispatches from the Unfinished Civil War (Vintage Departures) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780679758334
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - February 22nd, 1999

National Bestseller 

For all who remain intrigued by the legacy of the Civil War -- reenactors, battlefield visitors, Confederate descendants and other Southerners, history fans, students of current racial conflicts, and more -- this ten-state adventure is part travelogue, part social commentary and always good-humored. 
 


Pages