Book Club

Gibson's Book Club discusses The River

Monday, June 1st, 2020, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses The River, by Peter Heller.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
The River: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525521877
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - March 5th, 2019

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"A fiery tour de force… I could not put this book down. It truly was terrifying and unutterably beautiful." –Alison Borden, The Denver Post

From the best-selling author of The Dog Stars, the story of two college students on a wilderness canoe trip--a gripping tale of a friendship tested by fire, white water, and violence


Gibson's Book Club discusses The Pioneers

Monday, May 4th, 2020, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West, by David McCullough.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781501168680
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 7th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Pulitzer Prize–winning historian David McCullough rediscovers an important and dramatic chapter in the American story—the settling of the Northwest Territory by dauntless pioneers who overcame incredible hardships to build a community based on ideals that would come to define our country.

As part of the Treaty of Paris, i


Gibson's Book Club discusses Semicolon

Monday, March 2nd, 2020, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses Semicolon: The Past, Present, and Future of a Misunderstood Mark, by Cecelia Watson.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
Semicolon: The Past, Present, and Future of a Misunderstood Mark Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062853059
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - July 30th, 2019

“Delightful.” —Mary Norris, The New Yorker


Gibson's Book Club discusses Circe

Monday, February 3rd, 2020, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses Circe, by Madeline Miller.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
Circe Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316556323
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Back Bay Books - January 28th, 2020

"A bold and subversive retelling of the goddess's story," this #1 New York Times bestseller is "both epic and intimate in its scope, recasting the most infamous female figure from the Odyssey as a hero in her own right" (Alexandra Alter, The New York Times).


Gibson's Book Club discusses A Little History of Philosophy

Monday, January 6th, 2020, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses A Little History of Philosophy, by Nigel Warburton.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
A Little History of Philosophy (Little Histories) Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780300187793
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yale University Press - October 30th, 2012

For readers of E. H. Gombrich's A Little History of the World, an equally irresistible volume that brings history's greatest philosophers to life

Philosophy begins with questions about the nature of reality and how we should live.


Gibson's Book Club discusses Cold Comfort Farm

Monday, December 2nd, 2019, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses Cold Comfort Farm, by Stella Gibbons.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
Cold Comfort Farm: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) Cover Image
By Stella Gibbons, Lynne Truss (Introduction by), Roz Chast (Illustrator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143039594
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Classics - March 28th, 2006

"Quite simply one of the funniest satirical novels of the last century." —Nancy Pearl, NPR's Morning Edition


Gibson's Book Club discusses Confederates in the Attic

Monday, November 4th, 2019, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses Confederates in the Attic: Dispatches From the Unfinished Civil War, by Tony Horwitz.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
Confederates in the Attic: Dispatches from the Unfinished Civil War (Vintage Departures) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780679758334
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - February 22nd, 1999

National Bestseller 

For all who remain intrigued by the legacy of the Civil War -- reenactors, battlefield visitors, Confederate descendants and other Southerners, history fans, students of current racial conflicts, and more -- this ten-state adventure is part travelogue, part social commentary and always good-humored. 
 


Gibson's Book Club discusses Recursion, by Blake Crouch

Monday, October 7th, 2019, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses Recursion: A Novel, by Blake Crouch.

Staff Pick Badge
Recursion: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524759780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - June 11th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the bestselling author of Dark Matter and the Wayward Pines trilogy comes a relentless thriller about time, identity, and memory—his most mind-boggling, irresistible work to date, and the inspiration for Shondaland’s upcoming Netflix film.


Gibson's Book Club discusses Quiet, by Susan Cain

Monday, September 9th, 2019, 5:30 p.m.

Gibson's Book Club discusses Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking, by Susan Cain.

Our book club is free and open to the public, newcomers are encouraged! Join us for every month, or deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Staff Pick Badge
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780307352156
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - January 29th, 2013

The book that started the Quiet Revolution


Gibson's Book Club: PICKAPALOOZA

Monday, August 5th, 2019, 5:30 p.m.

August is our Pickapalooza! Our book club picks a year's worth of book club reads this month; come prepared to defend your suggestions (of which you may bring many!), and we'll decide for the coming year. If you've been hopeful to join our book club but were hoping for different styles of books, now is the time to make your case! We are democratically run, and you can deal yourself in as the spirit moves you.

Pages