The Children's Secret, with Nina Monroe

cover art for The Children's Secret by Nina MonroeTuesday, September 7th, 2021, 6:30pm IN PERSON. Unvaccinated persons over 5 years of age are required to wear masks inside Gibson's; vaccinated persons are strongly suggested to wear masks in the close quarters of event seating and the signing line.

Virginia Macgregor, writing as Nina Monroe, returns to Gibson's Bookstore to present her suspense debut in The Children's Secret! Set in New Hampshire, Virginia has been working on this book for years to get it just right.

In the vein of Big Little Lies, Nina Monroe's suspense debut explores the dangerous side of suburbia.

Nothing ever happens in a sleepy town like Middlebrook. Until the residents are shaken to their core, when one hot Saturday afternoon, at a back-to-school party, nine children sneak into a barn...and only eight come out unharmed.

The press immediately starts asking questions. What type of parents let their children play unsupervised in a house with guns? What kind of child pulls the trigger on their friend? And most importantly: of the nine children who were present in that barn, which one actually pulled the trigger, and why are the others staying silent?

Incredibly gripping and gorgeously written, this thought-provoking novel asks how much our children are capable of, and how far we will go to protect them.

Can't make this event? We're happy to have ordered copies signed for you to pick up or have shipped!

About the author: Virginia Macgregor is the author of What Milo SawThe Return of Norah WellsBefore I Was Yours, You Found Me and two novels for young adults Wishbones and As Far as the Stars. Her work has been translated into over a dozen languages. What Milo Saw has been optioned for film.

Her latest novel, The Children’s Secret, written under the pseudonym, Nina Monroe, is her first suspense novel and is set in her adopted home state of New Hampshire in the US. The novel has been optioned for TV.

After graduating from Oxford University, Virginia taught English in three British boarding schools.  She holds an MA in Creative Writing. Virginia now lives in New Hampshire with her husband, their three small children and their four cats.

Sign up for the events-specific email newsletter from Gibson's Bookstore! Separate from our main store newsletter, this newsletter sends you notices when we book events, and what our upcoming events are! We promise not to sell your email address. https://signup.e2ma.net/signup/1947324/1359315/

Event date: 
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
45 South Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
The Children's Secret: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643858753
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - September 7th, 2021

In the vein of Big Little Lies, Nina Monroe's suspense debut explores the dangerous side of suburbia.

Nothing ever happens in a sleepy town like Middlebrook. Until the residents are shaken to their core, when one hot Saturday afternoon, at a back-to-school party, nine children sneak into a barn...and only eight come out unharmed.


You Found Me Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780751565263
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sphere - October 20th, 2020

The BRAND NEW novel

'Stayed with me long after I'd finished reading.'
Mike Gayle, BESTSELLING author of The Man I Think I Know

'Loved this - a compassionate and very timely book about how we treat each other.'
Eva Woods, BESTSELLING author of How to be Happy


Wishbones Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780008217297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HQ Young Adult - May 18th, 2017

Feather Tucker has two wishes:

1)To get her mum healthy again

2) To win the Junior UK swimming championships


Before I Was Yours: How far would you go for a child who wasn't yours? Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780751565225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sphere - April 3rd, 2018

How far would you go for a child who isn't yours?

Why do readers LOVE Virginia Macgregor?

'I defy you not to fall in love' Clare Mackintosh
'Will delight you but break your heart several times over' Sun
'I couldn't put this insightful, compelling novel down' Woman & Home


As Far as the Stars Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780008274504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HQ Young Adult - May 21st, 2019

Praise for Virginia Macgregor:

'I defy you not to fall in love' Clare Mackintosh

How do you change what's already written in the stars?


The Return of Norah Wells Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780751554236
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sphere - September 5th, 2017

She walked out, but can she walk back in?

Why do readers LOVE Virginia Macgregor?

'I defy you not to fall in love' Clare Mackintosh
'Will delight you' Sun
'Might restore your faith in human nature' Bella


Categories: