Virtual storytime with author illustrator Mark Hoffmann!

Saturday May 16th, 2020, 11am EST. Did you miss this? You can watch an edited version of Mark's doodling and storytime on Youtube! Stories have been edited down from their entirety to comply with publisher performance conditions.

Mark Hoffmann returns! This hilarious author/illustrator brings his two new picturebooks to share with kids; Dirt Cheap, where a young entrepreneur sets out to earn some money and discovers the value of a dollar (and of dirt)! Perfect for fans of Lemonade in Winter, The Most Magnificent Thing, and Rosie Revere, Engineer, and Explosion at the Poem Factory (written by Kyle Lukoff), where an out-of-work piano teacher takes a job assembling poems at the local poetry factory churning out manufactured and uniform verse, until one day the machines malfunction, and there is a dramatic explosion at the poem factory. How will poetry ever survive? Kyle Lukoff's funny story, rich in wordplay, is complemented by Mark Hoffmann's lively, quirky art. The backmatter includes definitions of poetic feet, types of poems (with illustrated examples) and a glossary of other terms.

We will be hosting Mark in conversation via ZOOM videoconferencing.

Event date: 
Saturday, May 16, 2020 - 11:00am
Event address: 
45 South Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
Dirt Cheap Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524719944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

A young entrepreneur sets out to earn some money and discovers the value of a dollar (and of dirt)! Perfect for fans of Lemonade in Winter, The Most Magnificent Thing, and Rosie Revere, Engineer.


Explosion at the Poem Factory Cover Image
By Kyle Lukoff, Mark Hoffmann (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781773061320
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Groundwood Books - April 7th, 2020

Kilmer Watts makes his living teaching piano lessons, but when automatic pianos arrive in town, he realizes he's out of a job. He spots a "Help Wanted" sign at the poem factory and decides to investigate -- he's always been curious about how poems are made.