Megan Bannen - The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy, in conversation with Ashley Poston - The Dead Romantics

Tuesday, September 6th, 2022, 7pm ET, Online only via Zoom Webinar. Registration required: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/406334376057

Did you miss this event? Not to worry, you can watch it on the Gibson's Bookstore Youtube Channel! https://youtu.be/ULOFdkSD5LE

Megan Bannen visits Gibson's Bookstore virtually to share her romantic fantasy novel, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy; Set in a world full of magic and demigods, donuts and small-town drama, this enchantingly quirky, utterly unique fantasy is perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea and The Invisible Library. Megan will be joined in conversation by novelist Ashley Poston, author of The Dead Romantics, where a disillusioned millennial ghostwriter who, quite literally, has some ghosts of her own, has to find her way back home.

 

Sign up for the events-specific email newsletter from Gibson's Bookstore! Separate from our main store newsletter, this newsletter sends you notices when we book events, and what our upcoming events are! We promise not to sell your email address. https://signup.e2ma.net/signup/1947324/1359315/

Event date: 
Tuesday, September 6, 2022 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Staff Pick Badge
The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy By Megan Bannen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316394215
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 23rd, 2022

Ryan's August 2022 pick

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a macabre fantasy with You’ve Got Mail vibes that set my heart aflame.  

An enemies to lovers romance between an undertaker named Mercy and a Demigod marshal named Hart, set in a modern day fantasy world. 

Hart writes a letter addressed simply to A Friend, in which he admits to his loneliness and struggles, and to his surprise, A Friend writes back, thus beginning a sweet and flirty epistolary friendship. 

What the Friends don’t realize (but we, the readers do), is that they not only know each other in real life, they actively despise one another. 

Told in alternating chapters between Hart and Mercy, this book has passion, longing, loneliness, grief, and humor. The world building is fantastic, the characters are lovable, and the romance is spicy


Staff Pick Badge
The Dead Romantics By Ashley Poston Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593336489
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 28th, 2022

Ryan's June 2022 Pick

The spooky romance you didn’t know you needed. A ghost writer for a famous romance author is struggling to meet her deadline because she’s just been dumped in the most horrible way and can’t stop herself from killing off her male protagonist every time she attempts to finish her latest book. Then her father dies and she heads back to her hometown where she was ostracized as a teenager when everyone found out that she can see ghosts. To complicate matters, her incredibly hot new editor appears on the doorstep of her family’s funeral home and she discovers that he’s been hit by a car and great, now she’s falling for a ghost. This book does indeed have a happily ever after, but I won’t give it away, you need to get there yourself.


Categories: