The Vandebeekers to the Rescue, with Karina Yan Glaser

Thursday, September 26th, 2019, 6 p.m.

NYT bestselling children's author Karina Yan Glaser sweeps into Gibson's Bookstore to present her new Vanderbeekers novel, The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue! This series is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks  and Front Desk!

For the Vanderbeeker kids of Harlem’s 141st Street, spring break couldn’t be off to a better start. Isa’s back from band camp, Oliver’s building his first-ever treehouse in the backyard of the brownstone, and Laney, Jess, and Hyacinth are excited to help their mother when she gets the once-in-a-lifetime chance to star in a cooking magazine.

But the Vanderbeekers’ plans go off the rails when an unexpected visit from city officials puts their mother’s bakery in jeopardy. Now they’ll have to band together to save the day before they’re out of business. Perfect for fans of The Penderwicks and Front Desk.

About the author: Karina Yan Glaser is the New York Times best-selling author of The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street and The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden. A former teacher and a contributor to Book Riot, Karina lives in Harlem, New York City, with her husband, two daughters, and assortment of rescued animals. One of her proudest achievements is raising two kids who can't go anywhere without a book.

Event date: 
Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
45 South Main St
Concord, NH 03301
The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328577573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 17th, 2019

NYT Bestselling series! Harlem’s favorite family returns in the third installment in the Vanderbeerkers series, wherein the Vanderbeeker kids find themselves racing to save their mother’s baking business from city closure.


The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781328499219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

From New York Times best-selling author Karina Yan Glaser comes one of Times'  Notable Children's Books of 2017: “In this delightful and heartwarming throwback to the big-family novels of yesteryear, a large biracial family might lose their beloved brownstone home, but win it back with an all-out charm offensive.”

The Va


The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328770028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 25th, 2018

New York Times bestseller! 

Return to Harlem's "wildly entertaining" family in this funny, heartwarming sequel.