The Vanishing Sky, with L. Annette Binder

cover art for The Vanishing Sky. The skyline of a bomb damaged German city from World World 2 is displayed against a pink sunset.L. Annette Binder visits Gibson's Bookstore to present The Vanishing Sky. For readers of Warlight and The Invisible Bridge, an intimate, harrowing story about a family of German citizens during World War II.

The Vanishing Sky is a World War II novel as seen through a German lens, a story of the irreparable damage of war on the home front, and one family's participation-involuntary, unseen, or direct-in a dangerous regime. Drawing inspiration from her own father's time in the Hitler Youth, L. Annette Binder has crafted a spellbinding novel about the daring choices we make for country and for family.

About the author: L. Annette Binder was born in Germany and immigrated to the U.S. as a small child. She holds degrees in classics and law from Harvard, an MA in comparative literature from the University of California at Berkeley, and an MFA from the Program in Writing at the University of California, Irvine. Her short fiction collection Rise received the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction. She lives in New Hampshire.

Event date: 
Thursday, June 11, 2020 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
45 South Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
The Vanishing Sky Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635574678
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - June 9th, 2020

For readers of Warlight and The Invisible Bridge, an intimate, harrowing story about a family of German citizens during World War II.


Categories: