The Vanishing Sky, with L. Annette Binder

cover art for The Vanishing Sky. The skyline of a bomb damaged German city from World World 2 is displayed against a pink sunset.Online only, via Zoom. This event is free to attend, but registration is required: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/the-vanishing-sky-with-author-l-annette-binder-tickets-113702122108

Did you miss this event? We recorded it! You can watch it on our Youtube channel, here: https://youtu.be/tmCUR4ZFJBA

L. Annette Binder visits Gibson's Bookstore virtually to present The Vanishing Sky. For readers of Warlight and The Invisible Bridge, an intimate, harrowing story about a family of German citizens during World War II. She will be joined in conversation by Sandell Morse, author of The Spiral Shell.

The Vanishing Sky is a World War II novel as seen through a German lens, a story of the irreparable damage of war on the home front, and one family's participation-involuntary, unseen, or direct-in a dangerous regime. Drawing inspiration from her own father's time in the Hitler Youth, L. Annette Binder has crafted a spellbinding novel about the daring choices we make for country and for family.

About the author: L. Annette Binder was born in Germany and immigrated to the U.S. as a small child. She holds degrees in classics and law from Harvard, an MA in comparative literature from the University of California at Berkeley, and an MFA from the Program in Writing at the University of California, Irvine. Her short fiction collection Rise received the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction. She lives in New Hampshire.

Event date: 
Tuesday, July 28, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
45 South Main Street
Concord, NH 03301
The Vanishing Sky Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635574678
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - July 21st, 2020

For readers of Warlight and The Invisible Bridge, an intimate, harrowing story about a family of German citizens during World War II.

Included in the New York Times Book Review's Summer Reading Guide for Historical Fiction

“There was no shelter without her sons.”


The Spiral Shell: A French Village Reveals Its Secrets of Jewish Resistance in World War II Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781943156924
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Schaffner Press, Inc. - April 14th, 2020

April 2020 will mark the 80th Anniversary of the fall of France to Nazi Germany, and the establishment of the provisional government of the Vichy state, a puppet of the Axis regime, to carry out the arrest and deportation of all Jewish civilians.


Categories: