On Our Front Tables, July 21st, 2020

Chasing the Light: Writing, Directing, and Surviving Platoon, Midnight Express, Scarface, Salvador, and the Movie Game Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780358346234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - July 21st, 2020

An intimate memoir by the controversial and outspoken Oscar-winning director and screenwriter about his complicated New York childhood, volunteering for combat, and his struggles and triumphs making such films as Platoon, Midnight Express, and Scarface.

Before the international success of Platoon in 1986, Oliver Stone had been wounded as an


Malorie: A Bird Box Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593156858
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - July 21st, 2020

In the thrilling sequel to Bird Box, the inspiration for the record-breaking Netflix film that starred Sandra Bullock and “absolutely riveted” Stephen King, New York Times bestselling author Josh Malerman brings unseen horrors to life.
 


Axiom's End: A Novel (Noumena #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250256737
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 21st, 2020

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The alternate history first contact adventure Axiom's End is an extraordinary debut from Hugo finalist and video essayist Lindsay Ellis.


Truth is a human right.


The Vanishing Sky Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635574678
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - July 21st, 2020

For readers of Warlight and The Invisible Bridge, an intimate, harrowing story about a family of German citizens during World War II.

Included in the New York Times Book Review's Summer Reading Guide for Historical Fiction

“There was no shelter without her sons.”


He Came in with It: A Portrait of Motherhood and Madness Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781684425112
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Turner - July 21st, 2020

"...a cleansing narrative that should inspire mothers--and other caregivers--to rise up, unite, and breathe hot new life into the drooping cause of mental healthcare reform."-- Ron Powers, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and New York Times best-selling author.


The Art of Happiness: A Handbook for Living Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781573227544
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - July 21st, 2020

Available for the first time in trade paperback, the multi-million copy bestselling guide to happiness from His Holiness the Dalai Lama. 


The Answer Is . . .: Reflections on My Life Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982157999
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 21st, 2020

A RECOMMENDED SUMMER READ BY THE NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, TIME, AND NEWSWEEK

Longtime Jeopardy! host and television icon Alex Trebek reflects on his life and career.

Since debuting as the host of Jeopardy! in 1984, Alex Trebek has been something like a family member to millions of television viewers, bringing e


Hamnet Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525657606
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - July 21st, 2020

England, 1580: The Black Death creeps across the land, an ever-present threat, infecting the healthy, the sick, the old and the young, alike. The end of days is near, but life always goes on.  


Twilight of Democracy: The Seductive Lure of Authoritarianism Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780385545808
Availability: Backordered
Published: Doubleday - July 21st, 2020

"How did our democracy go wrong? This extraordinary document . . . is Applebaum's answer." —Timothy Snyder, author of On Tyranny

A Pulitzer Prize–winning historian explains, with electrifying clarity, why elites in democracies around the world are turning toward nationalism and authoritarianism.


The Pull of the Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316499019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - July 21st, 2020

In Dublin, 1918, a maternity ward at the height of the Great Flu is a small world of work, risk, death, and unlooked-for love, in "Donoghue's best novel since Room" (Kirkus Reviews)


Near Dark: A Thriller (The Scot Harvath Series #19) Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781982104061
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - July 21st, 2020

Instant #1 New York Times and Wall Street Journal Bestseller

“Fast-paced...pulse-pounding...supremely entertaining…His best ever.” —The Washington Times

“If you love thrillers…if you’ve ever read a thriller you enjoyed…if you think you *might* like a thriller&helli


Remain in Love: Talking Heads, Tom Tom Club, Tina Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250209221
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 21st, 2020

Two iconic bands. An unforgettable life.


Waiting for an Echo: The Madness of American Incarceration Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781594205972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - July 21st, 2020

*New York Times Books to Watch for in July*
*Time Best New Books July 2020*

Galvanized by her work in our nation's jails, psychiatrist Christine Montross illuminates the human cost of mass incarceration and mental illness


Science Fictions: How Fraud, Bias, Negligence, and Hype Undermine the Search for Truth Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250222695
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Metropolitan Books - July 21st, 2020

An insider’s view of science reveals why many scientific results cannot be relied upon – and how the system can be reformed.


Staff Pick Badge
The Unadoptables Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593116937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - July 21st, 2020

Neil Gaiman meets Hans Christian Andersen in this delicious fairy tale full of mysterious spirits, daring escapes, and a beautiful message about the power of found families.


Baseless: My Search for Secrets in the Ruins of the Freedom of Information Act Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780735215757
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - July 21st, 2020

A major new work, a hybrid of history, journalism, and memoir, about the modern Freedom of Information Act – FOIA – and the horrifying, decades-old government misdeeds that it is unable to demystify, from one of America's most celebrated writers


She Proclaims: Our Declaration of Independence from a Man's World Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781538750650
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 21st, 2020

Take action and shatter the glass ceiling with this empowering and optimistic feminist guide from the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of Dear Madam President.

In an era marked by a frustrating sense of stagnation for women, Jennifer Palmieri has found a way to move beyond the bounds of


The Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Renegade Scientists and Spies Who Sabotaged the Nazi Atomic Bomb Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316381673
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - July 21st, 2020

From New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean comes the gripping, untold story of a renegade group of scientists and spies determined to keep Adolf Hitler from obtaining the ultimate prize: a nuclear bomb.


Brother's Keeper Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780823444946
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holiday House - July 21st, 2020

Can two children escape North Korea on their own?

North Korea. December, 1950.

Twelve-year-old Sora and her family live under an iron set of rules: No travel without a permit. No criticism of the government. No absences from Communist meetings. Wear red. Hang pictures of the Great Leader. Don't trust your neighbors. Don't speak your mind. You are being watched.


War Stories Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338290202
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - July 21st, 2020

A story of telling truth from lies - and finding out what being a hero really means.


Shielded Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593118535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - July 21st, 2020

For fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Furyborn comes a thrilling new fantasy about a kingdom ravaged by war, and the princess who might be the key to saving not only those closest to her, but the kingdom itself, if she reveals the very secret that could destroy her.