Great Stone Face Nominees 2022

The Barren Grounds: The Misewa Saga, Book One Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735266100
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Canada - September 8th, 2020

Narnia meets traditional Indigenous stories of the sky and constellations in an epic middle grade fantasy series from award-winning author David Robertson.


The Barren Grounds: The Misewa Saga, Book One Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780735266124
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Canada - August 31st, 2021

Narnia meets traditional Indigenous stories of the sky and constellations in an epic middle-grade fantasy series from award-winning author David Robertson.


Before the Ever After Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399545436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

WINNER OF THE NAACP IMAGE AWARD


WINNER OF THE CORETTA SCOTT KING AUTHOR AWARD
 
National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson's stirring novel-in-verse explores how a family moves forward when their glory days have passed and the cost of professional sports on Black bodies.


The Blackbird Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984837356
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD WINNER
A SYDNEY TAYLOR MIDDLE GRADE HONOR BOOK
 
Like Ruta Sepetys for middle grade, Anne Blankman pens a poignant and timeless story of friendship that twines together moments in underexplored history.


The Blackbird Girls Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984837370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - January 19th, 2021

NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD WINNER
A SYDNEY TAYLOR MIDDLE GRADE HONOR BOOK
 
Like Ruta Sepetys for middle grade, Anne Blankman pens a poignant and timeless story of friendship that twines together moments in underexplored history.


The Boy Who Failed Show and Tell Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338647235
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - February 2nd, 2021

An unbelievably hilarious middle-grade true story from bestselling author Jordan Sonnenblick.

In a typical school year, every kid has one or two things go wrong. But for Jordan, there's A LOT going wrong ALL THE TIME.

Take this year. Here are some of the thing going wrong:

-- His teacher hates him. Like, really hates him.


Brave Like That Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062878113
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - June 2nd, 2020

Find yourself. Find your place. Find your brave.

This uplifting tale, which award-winning author Leslie Connor dubbed “a perfectly paced journey of the heart” is perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lynda Mullaly Hunt. 


Brave Like That Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062878120
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - April 6th, 2021

Find yourself. Find your place. Find your brave.

This uplifting tale, which award-winning author Leslie Connor dubbed “a perfectly paced journey of the heart” is perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lynda Mullaly Hunt. 


Fighting Words Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984815682
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - August 11th, 2020

*Newbery Honor Book*
*Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor*
 
A candid and fierce middle grade novel about sisterhood and sexual abuse, by two-time Newbery Honor winner and #1 New York Times best seller Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, author of The War that Saved My Life

Kirkus Prize Finalist
Boston Globe Best Book of the Year


Fighting Words Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781984815705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - August 10th, 2021

*Newbery Honor Book*
*Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor*
 
A candid and fierce middle grade novel about sisterhood and sexual abuse, by two-time Newbery Honor winner and #1 New York Times best seller Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, author of The War that Saved My Life

Kirkus Prize Finalist
Boston Globe Best Book of the Year


Ground Zero Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338245752
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - February 2nd, 2021

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller.

In time for the twentieth anniversary of 9/11, master storyteller Alan Gratz (Refugee) delivers a pulse-pounding and unforgettable take on history and hope, revenge and fear -- and the stunning links between the past and present.

September 11, 2001, New York City: Brandon is visiting hi


Harvey Comes Home Cover Image
By Colleen Nelson, Tara Anderson (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781772780970
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pajama Press - September 17th, 2019

An adventurous West Highland Terrier follows his nose a little too far from home and becomes desperate for a helping hand. But when he's taken in by a young boy volunteering at a retirement home, it just might be Harvey who does the helping.


Harvey Comes Home Cover Image
By Colleen Nelson, Tara Anderson (Illustrator)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781772781984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pajama Press - April 20th, 2021

Now in paperback, the award-winning story of a lost West Highland Terrier warming hearts and bringing generations together

A dog's world is a world of scents, of adventure. When Harvey the West Highland Terrier wanders out of his old life guided only by his nose and his heart, lives begin to converge.


The List of Things That Will Not Change Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101938096
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - April 7th, 2020

EIGHT STARRED REVIEWS! The reassuring book kids and families need right now.

"An absolute original . . . a story that kids will love." --R. J. Palacio, bestselling author of Wonder


The Lonely Heart of Maybelle Lane Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984893833
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - March 3rd, 2020

Maybelle Lane is looking for her father, but on the road to Nashville she finds so much more: courage, brains, heart--and true friends.


The Lonely Heart of Maybelle Lane Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781984893864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - March 16th, 2021

Maybelle Lane is looking for her father, but on the road to Nashville she finds so much more: courage, brains, heart--and true friends.


No Place For Monsters Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780358128533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - September 15th, 2020

In this spellbinding, lavishly illustrated story that Diary of a Wimpy Kid author Jeff Kinney calls "wildly imaginative and totally terrifying," two unlikely friends face down their worst fears in order to stop their small town—and themselves—from disappearing.

Levi and Kat are about to discover a very dark side to their neighborhood.


Pine Island Home Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780823447855
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret Ferguson Books - September 1st, 2020

Four sisters search for true family in this story of resilience by a Newbery Honor author.


Prairie Lotus Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328781505
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - March 3rd, 2020

Prairie Lotus is a powerful, touching, multilayered book about a girl determined to fit in and realize her dreams: getting an education, becoming a dressmaker in her father’s shop, and making at least one friend. Acclaimed, award-winning author Linda Sue Park has placed a young half-Asian girl, Hanna, in a small town in America’s heartland, in 1880.


Raising Lumie Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593113202
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - June 16th, 2020

A poignant, hopeful story of a girl and her puppy.


Raising Lumie Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593113219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - May 4th, 2021

A poignant, hopeful story of a girl and her puppy from Newbery Honor-winning author Joan Bauer, now in paperback!


Staff Pick Badge
The Silver Arrow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316539531
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

New York Times bestseller!

A PeopleMagazine Best Book of the Year

An Apple Best Book of the Year

An Amazon Best Book of the Year

"I loved every page.


The Silver Arrow Cover Image
By Lev Grossman, Simon Vance (Read by)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781549158490
Availability: Special Order
Published: Little, Brown Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

"I loved every page. This is middle grade fiction at its best."-- Ann Patchett
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Magicians comes a must-read, wholly original middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl.

Dear Uncle Herbert,


Stepping Stones: (A Graphic Novel) (Peapod Farm #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984896841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - May 5th, 2020

This contemporary middle-grade graphic novel about family and belonging from New York Times bestselling author Lucy Knisley is a perfect read for fans of Awkward and Be Prepared.

Jen is used to not getting what she wants. So suddenly moving the country and getting new stepsisters shouldn't be too much of a surprise.


The Truth According to Blue Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316424370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 12th, 2020

A heartfelt middle grade adventure about one girl's search for sunken treasure, friendship, and her place in the world.


The Truth According to Blue Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316424417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 11th, 2021

A heartfelt middle-grade adventure about one girl's search for sunken treasure, friendship, and her place in the world.


Unplugged Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062798893
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 5th, 2021

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unteachables, Gordon Korman, comes a hilarious middle grade novel about a group of kids forced to “unplug” at a wellness camp—where they instead find intrigue, adventure, and a whole lot of chaos.


When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

A National Book Award Finalist, this remarkable graphic novel is about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a former Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.


Winterborne Home For Vengeance And Valor Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358003199
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - March 3rd, 2020

"This is the kind of read that makes your soul sit up straight. At once a heart-wrenching tale of found family and a thrilling, atmospheric mystery that keeps you guessing at every page, Ally Carter's middle grade debut is a triumph.


Winterborne Home For Vengeance And Valor Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780358447870
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - December 29th, 2020

"This is the kind of read that makes your soul sit up straight. At once a heart-wrenching tale of found family and a thrilling, atmospheric mystery that keeps you guessing at every page, Ally Carter's middle grade debut is a triumph.