Spooky Scary Middle Grade Reads

Featuring stories from R.L. Stine and Madeleine Roux, this middle grade horror anthology, curated by New York Times bestselling author and master of macabre Jonathan Maberry, is a chilling tribute to Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark.


The Girl and the Ghost By Hanna Alkaf Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062940957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - August 4th, 2020

* Chosen as a 2020 Kirkus Prize Finalist for Young Readers' Literature! *

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.


Small Spaces (Small Spaces Quartet #1) By Katherine Arden Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525515029
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 25th, 2018

New York Times bestselling adult author of The Bear and the Nightingale makes her middle grade debut with a creepy, spellbinding ghost story destined to become a classic.


Camp Murderface By Saundra Mitchell, Josh Berk Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062871633
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 26th, 2020

Summer camp turns sinister in Camp Murderface, a spooky middle grade read perfect for fans of scare masters like R.L. Stine and Christopher Pike.

The year: 1983. The place: Ohio. The camp: Scary as heck.


Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery (Bunnicula and Friends) By Deborah Howe, James Howe, Alan Daniel (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Deborah Howe, James Howe, Alan Daniel (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781416928171
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 8th, 2006

BEWARE THE HARE!
Is he or isn't he a vampire?


Before it's too late, Harold the dog and Chester the cat must find out the truth about the newest pet in the Monroe household -- a suspicious-looking bunny with unusual habits...and fangs!


Serafina and the Black Cloak (The Serafina Series Book 1) By Robert Beatty Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781484711873
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - June 14th, 2016


NEW YORK TIMES BEST-SELLING SERIES!


"The story drips with suspense, wrapping readers into the narrative just as easily as the man in the black cloak binds his young victims. Serafina’s friendship with Braeden is heartfelt and believable... mystery fans will enjoy this book." —School Library Journal


Took: A Ghost Story By Mary Downing Hahn Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780544813106
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - September 6th, 2016

Daniel doesn’t believe the woods behind his new home are haunted by an evil witch and her terrifying beast. But then his little sister disappears . . . and it’s up to him to find her. Mary Downing Hahn’s popular page-turner will thrill readers who love spooky stories.


The Nest By Kenneth Oppel, Jon Klassen (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kenneth Oppel, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481432337
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 4th, 2016

The Nest leaves a lasting mark on the memory.” —The New York Times Book Review

Steve just wants to save his baby brother—but what will he lose in the bargain?


Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark By Alvin Schwartz, Brett Helquist (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Alvin Schwartz, Brett Helquist (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060835200
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 27th, 2010

The iconic anthology series of horror tales that's now a feature film!

A classic collection of chillingly scary tales, collected and retold by Alvin Schwartz and illustrated by renowned artist Brett Helquist (illustrator of A Series of Unfortunate Events and more!).


The Puppet's Payback and Other Chilling Tales By Mary Downing Hahn Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358067320
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - September 1st, 2020

The author of wildly popular ghost stories, Mary Downing Hahn has created a group of tales for fans of her "scary but not too scary" books.


Escape from the Roller Ghoster (Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol #11) By Andres Miedoso, Victor Rivas (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Andres Miedoso, Victor Rivas (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781534464902
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Simon - July 21st, 2020

Desmond and Andres visit a scary roller-ghoster in this eleventh haunted adventure in the Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol series!

The Kersville Amusement Park is always a good time, but it also gives a new meaning to the term “thrill rides.” That’s because, in addition to being a popular destination for heart-pounding fun, the park is also just a little bit haunted.


The Graveyard Book By Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean (Illustrator), Margaret Atwood (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean (Illustrator), Margaret Atwood (Foreword by)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780060530945
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - December 24th, 2018

The 10th anniversary edition of The Graveyard Book includes a foreword by Margaret Atwood as well as sketches from the illustrator, handwritten drafts, and Neil Gaiman’s Newbery acceptance speech.

IT TAKES A GRAVEYARD TO RAISE A CHILD.


The House with a Clock in Its Walls (Lewis Barnavelt) By John Bellairs, Edward Gorey (Illustrator) Cover Image
By John Bellairs, Edward Gorey (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142402573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - August 3rd, 2004

A haunting gothic tale by master mysery writer John Bellairs--soon to be a major motion picture starring Cate Blanchett and Jack Black!

"The House With a Clock in Its Walls will cast its spell for a long time."--The New York Times Book Review


Cinders and Sparrows By Stefan Bachmann Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062289957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 13th, 2020

A suspenseful tale of witches, family, and magic from internationally bestselling author Stefan Bachmann. When a twelve-year-old orphan unexpectedly becomes the mistress of a seemingly abandoned castle, she is thrust into a mysterious plot involving murderous spells, false identity, and a magical battle of wills between the living and the dead.


Field of Screams (Haunted #1) By Joel Sutherland Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781728225944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - August 1st, 2020

Will they escape before it's too late?

Darius and Ryan are excited to visit Scarecrow Farm. It's always been a spooky good time--the perfect spot to go on Halloween.


Night of the Living Dolls (Haunted #3) By Joel Sutherland Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781728225913
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Zelda is staying at her late grandmother's house when she rediscovers the doll she was given. It's old-fashioned and frayed, and Zelda doesn't think much of it.

Until she realizes the doll is alive and is looking for revenge...


A Tale of Witchcraft... (A Tale of Magic... #2) By Chris Colfer Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316523561
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 29th, 2020

In the enchanting New York Times bestselling sequel to A Tale of Magic…, a mysterious new witch arrives at the academy and her intentions are anything but good.


The Sisters of Straygarden Place By Hayley Chewins Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536212273
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - October 13th, 2020

A riveting middle-grade fantasy about sibling bonds, enchanted houses, and encroaching wildness, lyrically told in eerily beautiful prose

The grass grew taller than the house itself, surrounding it on all sides. It stuffed the keyholes and scraped against the roof. It shook the walls and made paintings shiver.